Personalized
Horoscope
  • AstroSage Brihat Horoscope
  • AstroSage Big Horoscope
  • Ask A Question
  • Raj Yoga Report
  • Career Counseling

List of Bank Holidays 2020

2020 Calendar Bank holidays 2020 explains that bank holidays are those days on which banks are officially closed. While holidays bring joy, relaxation and a sense of freedom from the daily work routine , they may also cause trouble with our finances. Before having a look at the list of bank holidays in India in the year 2020, let us know about the pros and cons of bank holidays.

LIST OF BANK HOLIDAYS 2020

Now that we know the importance of knowing bank holidays and the pros and cons associated with them, let us know in advance on what dates the bank holidays will fall in the year 2020. Following is the comprehensive state-wise list of the bank holidays in 2020.

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020 in JANUARY

Date Day Holiday States
1 January Wed New Year's Day Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Sikkim & Tamil Nadu
2 January Thurs Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Punjab, Haryana & Rajasthan
2 January Thurs New Year Holiday Mizoram
12 January Sun Swami Vivekananda Jayanti West Bengal
15 January Wed Magh Bihu Assam
15 January Wed Makar Sankranti Gujarat, Karnataka, Sikkim & Telangana
15 January Wed Pongal Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Pondicherry & Tamil Nadu
16 January Thurs Kanuma Panduga Andhra Pradesh
16 January Thurs Thiruvalluvar Day Tamil Nadu
23 January Thurs Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Odisha, Tripura & West Bengal
25 January Sat Sonam Losar Sikkim
25 January Sat State Day Himachal Pradesh
26 January Sun Republic Day National
30 January Thurs Basant Panchmi Haryana, Odisha, Punjab, Tripura & West Bengal

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020 in FEBRUARY

Date Day Holiday States
9 February Sun Guru Ravidas Jayanti Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana & Punjab
19 February Wed Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra
20 February Thurs State Day Arunachal Pradesh & Mizoram
21 February Fri Mahashivratri National except Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Goa, Lakshadweep, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Pondicherry, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu & West Bengal

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020 in MARCH

Date Day Holiday States
9 March Mon Hazrat Ali Jayanti Uttar Pradesh
10 March Tue Holi National except Karnataka, Kerala, Lakshadweep, Manipur, Pondicherry & Tamil Nadu
22 March Sun Bihar Day Bihar
23 March Mon S. Bhagat Singh's Martyrdom Day Haryana & Punjab
25 March Wed Gudi Padwa Maharashtra
25 March Wed Ugadi Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Rajasthan & Telangana

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020 in APRIL

Date Day Holiday States
1 April Wed Odisha Day Odisha
2 April Thurs Ram Namami Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Daman & Diu, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Telangana, Uttarakhand & Uttar Pradesh
5 April Sun Babu Jagjivan Ram Jayanti Andhra Pradesh & Telangana
6 April Mon Mahavir Jayanti Chhattisgarh, Chandigarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Lakshadweep, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu & Uttar Pradesh
10 April Fri Good Friday National except Haryana & Jammu & Kashmir
11 April Sat Easter Saturday Nagaland
12 April Sun Easter Sunday Kerala & Nagaland
13 April Mon Bohag Bihu Holiday Assam
13 April Mon Baisakhi Haryana, Jammu & Kashmir & Punjab
14 April Tue Bengali New Year Tripura & West Bengal
14 April Tue Dr Ambedkar Jayanti National except Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Chandigarh, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu, Lakshadweep, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Pondicherry & Tripura
14 April Tue Maha Vishuba Sankranti Odisha
14 April Tue Tamil New Year Tamil Nadu
14 April Tue Vishu Kerala
14 April Tue Bohag Bihu Arunachal Pradesh & Assam
15 April Wed Himachal Day Himachal Pradesh
21 April Tue Garia Puja Tripura
25 April Sat Maharshi Parshuram Jayanti Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh & Rajasthan
26 April Sun Basava Jayanti Karnataka

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020 in MAY

Date Day Holiday States
1 May Fri Maharashtra Day Maharashtra
1 May Fri May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Punjab, Pondicherry, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Tripura & West Bengal
7 May Thurs Buddha Purnima Arunachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Jharkhand, Jammu & Kashmir, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Tripura, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh & West Bengal
8 May Fri Guru Rabindranath Jayanti Tripura & West Bengal
16 May Sat State Day Sikkim
21 May Thurs Shab-e-Qadr Jammu & Kashmir
22 May Fri Jumat-ul-Wida Jammu & Kashmir
24 May Sun Eid Ul Fitr National
24 May Sun Kazi Nazrul Islam Jayanti Tripura
25 May Mon Eid Ul Fitr Holiday Telangana
25 May Mon Maharana Pratap Jayanti Himachal Pradesh, Haryana & Rajasthan
26 May Tue Sri Guru Arjan Dev Ji's Martyrdom Day Punjab

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020 in JUNE

Date Day Holiday States
5 June Fri Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana & Punjab
14 June Sun Pahili Raja Odisha
15 June Mon Raja Sankranti Odisha
15 June Mon YMA Day Mizoram
23 June Tue Jagannath Rath Yatra Odisha
30 June Tue Remna Ni Mizoram

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020 in JULY

Date Day Holiday States
5 July Sun Guru Hargobind Ji's Birthday Jammu & Kashmir
6 July Mon MHIP Day Mizoram
13 July Mon Bhanu Jayanti Sikkim
13 July Mon Martyrs' Day Jammu & Kashmir
16 July Thu Bonalu Telangana
17 July Fri U Tirot Sing Day Meghalaya
23 July Thurs Hariyali Teej Haryana
31 July Fri Bakrid / Eid al Adha National except Arunachal Pradesh, Daman & Diu, Punjab & Sikkim
31 July Fri Shaheed Udham Singh's Martyrdom Day Haryana & Punjab

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020 in AUGUST

Date Day Holiday States
1 August Sat Bakrid / Eid al Adha Holiday Jammu & Kashmir
3 August Mon Jhulan Purnima Odisha
3 August Mon Raksha Bandhan Chhattisgarh, Daman & Diu, Gujarat, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand & Uttar Pradesh
8 August Sat Tendong Lho Rum Faat Sikkim
11 August Tue Janmashtami National except Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Lakshadweep, Maharashtra, Manipur, Mizoram, Pondicherry & West Bengal
13 August Thurs Patriots Day Manipur
15 August Sat Independence Day National
16 August Sun De Jure Transfer Day Pondicherry
17 August Mon Parsi New Year Gujarat & Maharashtra
22 August Sat Ganesh Chaturthi Andhra Pradesh, Daman & Diu, Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Odisha, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Pondicherry, Telangana & Tamil Nadu
23 August Sun Ganesh Chaturthi Holiday Goa
23 August Sun Nuakhai Odisha
27 August Thurs Baba Sri Chand Ji Jayanti Punjab
28 August Fri Ramdev Jayanti Rajasthan
28 August Fri Teja Dashmi Rajasthan
30 August Sun First Onam/Thiruvonam Kerala
30 August Sun Muharram National except Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Daman & Diu, Goa, Kerala, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Pondicherry, Punjab, Sikkim, Uttarakhand & West Bengal
31 August Mon Thiruvonam Kerala

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020 in SEPTEMBER

Date Day Holiday States
1 September Tue Indra Jatra Sikkim
2 September Wed Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti Kerala
17 September Thurs Mahalaya Amavasya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura & West Bengal
18 September Fri First Day of Bathukamma Telangana
21 September Mon Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Kerala
23 September Wed Heroes' Martyrdom Day Haryana
28 September Mon S. Bhagat Singh Ji Jayanti Punjab

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020 in OCTOBER

Date Day Holiday States
2 October Fri Gandhi Jayanti National
17 October Sat Sharad Navratri Ghatasthapana Rajasthan
17 October Sat Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti Haryana
23 October Fri Maha Saptami Odisha, Sikkim, Tripura & West Bengal
24 Octv Sat Durga Maha Navami Puja , Durga Puja Ashtami Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Manipur, Odisha, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura & West Bengal
25 October Sun Durga Maha Navami Puja Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Odisha, Pondicherry, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh & West Bengal
26 October Mon Dussehra National except Manipur & Pondicherry
30 October Fri Eid e Milad National except Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chandigarh, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Punjab, Sikkim & West Bengal
31 October Sat Lakshmi Puja Odisha, Tripura & West Bengal
31 October Sat Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh & Punjab
31 October Sat Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Jayanti Gujarat

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020 in NOVEMBER

Date Day Holiday States
1 November Sun Haryana Day Haryana
1 November Sun Kannada Rajyotsava Karnataka
1 November Sun Kut Manipur
1 November Sun Puducherry Liberation Day Pondicherry
2 November Mon Parkash Gurpurab of Sri Guru Ram Das Ji Punjab
6 November Fri Friday Following Eid e Milad Jammu & Kashmir
6 November Fri Lhabab Duchen Sikkim
13 November Fri Wangala Festival Meghalaya
14 November Sat Deepavali Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Pondicherry, Telangana & Tamil Nadu
14 November Sat Diwali National except Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Pondicherry, Tamil Nadu & Telangana
15 November Sun Deepavali Holiday Daman & Diu, Haryana, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand & Uttar Pradesh
15 November Sun Vikram Samvat New Year Gujarat
16 November Mon Bhai Dooj Gujarat, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Uttarakhand & Uttar Pradesh
16 November Mon Shahidi Diwas S. Kartar Singh Sarabha Ji Punjab
20 November Fri Chhath Puja Bihar & Jharkhand
21 November Sat Chhath Puja Holiday Bihar
23 November Mon Seng Kut Snem Meghalaya
30 November Mon Guru Nanak Jayanti National except Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Daman & Diu, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Odisha, Pondicherry, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu & Tripura
30 November Mon Kartik Purnima Vrat Odisha & Telangana

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020 in DECEMBER

Date Day Holiday States
3 December Thurs Feast of St Francis Xavier Goa
3 December Thurs Kanakadasa Jayanti Karnataka
5 December Sat Sheikh Muhammad Abdullah Jayanti Jammu & Kashmir
18 December Fri Death Anniversary of U SoSo Tham Meghalaya
18 December Fri Guru Ghasidas Jayanti Chhattisgarh
19 December Sat Liberation Day Daman & Diu & Goa
19 December Sat Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji's Martyrdom Day Punjab
25 December Fri Christmas Day National
26 December Sat Christmas Holiday Meghalaya, Mizoram & Telangana
26 December Sat Shaheed Udham Singh Jayanti Haryana
30 December Wed Tamu Losar Sikkim
30 December Wed U Kiang Nangbah Meghalaya
31 December Thurs New Year's Eve Manipur

Know more about Indian Festivals & their Significance

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020: BENEFITS OF BANK HOLIDAYS

  • Bank holidays 2020, like all other holidays, give their employees moments of leisure with their families.
  • In a globalising world, banks and their employees play a very crucial role and work really hard to spread their business.
  • In India, with multiple initiatives like the Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana, MUDRA Yojana, Sukanya Samriddhi Yojana etc, being taken up by the government to expand the reach of banks and it’s services into every nook and corner of the country and bring more people into the network of the formal economy, the workload on the banking sector is more than ever. This makes these bank holidays even more important for the banking sector employees.

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020: LOSSES DUE TO BANK HOLIDAYS

  • A globalising country like India cannot afford to have the financial intermediary institutions closing down for many days in a year.
  • Multiple holidays create problems for pensioners.
  • Trading in bonds, stocks and commodity as well as currency derivatives gets affected.
  • If banks are closed for multiple days in a row, it affects the stocking of ATMs and eventual cash crunch in the economy.
  • Commerce is secular, global, competitive and continuous and it cannot afford to be out of sync.

These were the losses due to bank holidays described in Bank Holidays 2020.

BANK HOLIDAYS 2020: ABOUT SOME IMPORTANT HOLIDAYS

PONGAL, UTTARAYAN, MAKAR SANKRANTI: As per the solar calendar, the Sun enters different zodiac signs on a fixed day. Makar sankranti, celebrated on 14th January every year, marks the rising of the sun in the zodiac Capricorn or Makar. It is also called Uttarayan, as the sun now begins its journey northwards ( the sun moves between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn). It is celebrated as Pongal in Kerala.

REPUBLIC DAY: One of our national festivals, this is the day when the Constitution of India came into force in the year 1950. The President of India unfurls the National Flag at Rajpath, New Delhi. A parade is held every year beginning from Rajpath and ending at the Red Fort in New Delhi.

BASANT PANCHMI : Basant Panchami marks the arrival of spring season. Hindus worship Goddess Saraswati on this day to receive traction for the new rise in their energies with the arrival of spring and end of the winters.

MAHASHIVRATRI: Dedicated to Lord Shiva and celebrated on the new moon night of the month of Maagha, Mahashivratri is a symbol of overcoming darkness and ignorance in life. Hindus observe fasting during the day and worship ( abhishek ) the Shivling with milk, flowers and fruits.

HOLI: Celebrated on the very next day of holika dahan with colours, water balloons and sprinklers. It is a symbol of fraternity and harmony.

RAM NAVAMI: Rama Navami is a Hindu festival celebrated in the spring season that marks the birth anniversary of Lord Rama, particularly important to the Vaishnavism tradition of Hinduism, as the seventh incarnation of Vishnu. The festival is a part of the nine day spring Navratri, and falls on the ninth day of the bright half in the Hindu traditional calendar month of Chaitra.

GUDI PADVA: Gudi Padva is a festival that marks the traditional new year for Marathi Hindus. It is celebrated in and near Maharashtra on the first day of the Chaitra month, during spring-time.

AMBEDKAR JAYANTI: Celebrated by paying tribute in the form of garlands to the statues of the framer of the Constitution of India, Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar, on his birth anniversary.

GOOD FRIDAY: Christian holiday commemorating the ultimate sacrifice made by Lord Jesus to free his people from their sins, his crucifixion and death at Cavalry.

MAHAVIR JAYANTI: Celebrated by the Jain community to commemorate the birth of their 24th tirthankara, Lord Mahavira.

BUDDHA PURNIMA: Observed in most countries in East Asia as the birth anniversary of the enlightened Lord Buddha on the full moon night of the month of Vaishakh or Vesak.

EID-UL-FITR: Eid ul-Fitr is an important religious holiday celebrated by Muslims all over the world marking the end of Ramadan, the Islamic holy month of fasting.

BAKRID/ EID-AL-ADHA: Celebrated by Muslims worldwide, the festival honours the willingness of Ibrahim to sacrifice his son out of obedience to God’s command. People sacrifice he-goats after which it is cooked and eaten.


INDEPENDENCE DAY: Itis annually celebrated on 15th of August, as anational holiday, commemorating the nation'sindependence from theUnited Kingdom on 15 August 1947, when the UK Parliament passed the Indian Independence Act 1947,transferring legislative sovereignty to theIndian Constituent Assembly. Every year the Prime Minister of India hoists the national flag at the Red Fort at New Delhi and is observed throughout India with flag-hoisting ceremonies, parades and various cultural events.

RAKSHA BANDHAN: Celebrated as a mark of the bond between brother and sister. On this day, sisters tie beautiful threads called rakhis on their brothers’ wrists as a symbol of their love.

JANMASHTAMI: Janmashtami is an annual Hindu festival celebrated to mark the birth anniversary of the eighth incarnation of Lord Vishnu, that is Lord Krishna. On this occasion people form human pyramids and break dahi handis in celebrations.

GANESH CHATURTHI: More popular in the western India, especially in Maharashtra, It includes installation of Ganesha clay idols in homes as well as publicly on pandals (temporary stages) and eventually their visarjana.

MUHARRAM: It is the first month of theIslamic calendar. During this month, warfareis forbidden.It is held to be the second holiest month, afterRamaḍān. Since theIslamiccalendar islunar calendar, the month of Muharram moves from year to year when compared with theGregorian calendar.

ONAM: Celebrated in the Malayalam month of Chingam, Onam is the official festival of Kerala state. Celebrations include feasts, folk performances, boat races, games and much more.

GANDHI JAYANTI: Marks the birth anniversary of the Father of our nation, Mahatma Gandhi and now also the Swachh Bharat Diwas. It is one of the three national festivals of the country.

DUSSEHRA: Celebrated about twenty days prior to Diwali, Dussehra marks the victory of Lord Rama over Ravana, thus signifying the victory of Good over Evil. It is celebrated through week long plays of Raam-leela and the eventual burning down of Ravana effigies all over the country.

SARDAR VALLABHBHAI PATEL JAYANTI: Declared by the union government as Ekta Diwas, this day marks the birth anniversary of the Iron Man of India, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel credited for uniting independent India.

EID-E-MILAD: Celebrated to commemorate the birth of the Islamic Prophet Muhammad.

DIWALI: The festival of lights is celebrated on the amavasya of the traditional month of Kartika. Marks the return of Lord Rama to Ayodhya from a fourteen year exile. People light diyas, fireworks and worship Goddess Lakshmi and Lord Ganesha for prosperity and happiness.

GURU NANAK JAYANTI: Celebrated by Sikhs, it is the birth anniversary of the first Sikh Guru.

CHRISTMAS: It is celebrated to commemorate the birth of Lord Jesus Christ. X-Mas trees are decorated, sweets are distributed and people meet their loved ones.

Knowing about the bank holidays helps in planning the withdrawal and deposit of your money as per upcoming requirements. The state holidays are especially important to know because of their local character. On our website, it is our attempt to provide the content that would help the viewers plan better. Some of the above dates are subject to official revision. Stay tuned to the website for revised dates. We appreciate your time.

Hope, the information for Bank Holidays 2020 will help you to plan your work and holidays accordingly.

Astrological services for accurate answers and better feature

50% off

Get AstroSage Year Book with 50% discount

Buy AstroSage Year Book at Best Price.

Big Horoscope
What will you get in 100+ pages Big Horoscope.
Finance
Are money matters a reason for the dark-circles under your eyes?
Ask A Question
Is there any question or problem lingering.
Career / Job
Worried about your career? don't know what is.
Love
Will you be able to rekindle with your lost love?
Health & Fitness
It is said that health is the real wealth. If you are not

Astrological remedies to get rid of your problems

Red Coral / Moonga
(3 Carat)

Get the Best Results of Your Deeds with this Combo.

Gemstones
Buy Genuine Gemstones at Best Prices.
Yantras
Energised Yantras for You.
Rudraksha
Original Rudraksha to Bless Your Way.
Feng Shui
Bring Good Luck to your Place with Feng Shui.
Mala
Praise the Lord with Divine Energies of Mala.
Jadi (Tree Roots)
Keep Your Place Holy with Jadi.

Buy Your Big Horoscope

100+ pages @ Rs. 699/-

Big horoscope

AstroSage on MobileAll Mobile Apps

AstroSage TVSubscribe

Buy Gemstones

Best quality gemstones with assurance of AstroSage.com

Buy Yantras

Take advantage of Yantra with assurance of AstroSage.com

Buy Feng Shui

Bring Good Luck to your Place with Feng Shui.from AstroSage.com

Buy Rudraksh

Best quality Rudraksh with assurance of AstroSage.com

Reports