When you first read the word “Mahadasha,” you probably get scared and panic due to its bad reputation. However, in Vedic astrology, Mahadasha emerges as a profound thread, weaving through the various phases of an individual's life. It's akin to a cosmic clock, ticking away the years and revealing the influence of planetary energies in shaping our destinies. Mahadasha, derived from Sanskrit, translates to 'major period,' and it holds the key to understanding the ebbs and flows of life's journey.

Mahadasha represents a significant time frame ruled by a specific planet, each with its unique characteristics and influences. These planetary periods stretch over several years, shaping our experiences, challenges, and opportunities. Each planet's Mahadasha brings forth its unique energy, bestowing both blessings and challenges upon individuals, akin to chapters in the grand book of life.


Let’s check out the period of Mahadasha of each planet:






6 Years


Krittika, Uttara Phalguni, Uttara Ashadha


10 Years


Rohini, Hasta, Sravana


16 Years

Sagittarius, Pisces

Punarvasu, Vishakha, Purva Bhadrapada


7 Years

Aries, Scorpio

Mrigasira, Chitra, Dhanishta


17 Years

Gemini, Virgo

Ashlesha, Jyeshtha, Revati


20 Years

Taurus, Libra

Bharani, PurvaPhalguni, Purvashada


19 Years

Capricorn, Aquarius

Pushya, Anuradha, Purva Bhadrapada


18 Years

Co-Ruler: Aquarius

Ardra, Swati, Shatabhisha


7 Years

Co-Ruler: Scorpio

Ashwini, Mgha, Mula

All of these 9 planets together form 120 years of Mahadasha. Just as the planets align in the heavens, so too do the events of our lives unfold in divine synchronicity. By embracing the wisdom of Vedic astrology and understanding the nuances of Mahadasha, individuals gain a profound insight into the cosmic clockwork that governs their existence.

Antardasha Or Bhukti

If you think a Mahadasha has just one active planet at a time then you are highly mistaken. Each Mahadasha is subdivided into planetary periods called Antar-dasha or Bhukti, prati-antarasha, sukshma dasha and pran dasha which run their course in the same order as the Mahadashas, and with the same proportional length. For example, the first Bhukti is Sun/Sun, Sun/Moon, Sun/Mars and so on. So, at a given time period, there are four to five active planets within the Mahadasha and these subdivisions allow a much more detailed examination of the influence of each Mahadasha, and a much clearer indication of what events are expected to occur and when. 

A Mahadasha can be viewed as the driver and antar-dasha as the conductor. Antar-dasha and the rest of the sub-periods give results as per their ownership and their placement in an individual horoscope. These are the driving forces behind the positive and negative events that take place in our lives at a particular time. 

The journey through Mahadasha starts with the alignments of the planets when a person is born. Here is a small list of what each planet’s Mahadasha turns out to be like: 

  1. Sun (Surya Mahadasha): Lasts up to 6 years. Illuminating and authoritative, Surya Mahadasha heralds a period of self-discovery, leadership, and vitality. Individuals may experience a surge in confidence, ambition, and recognition during this phase. 
  2. Moon (Chandra Mahadasha): Lasts up to 10 years. Emotional tides ebb and flow under the influence of Chandra Mahadasha. This period accentuates sensitivity, nurturing instincts, and intuitive faculties. Relationships, home life, and inner peace take precedence.
  3. Mars (Mangal Mahadasha): Lasts up to 7 years. Dynamic and fiery, Mangal Mahadasha ignites the spirit of action, courage, and assertiveness. However, it may also introduce conflicts, impulsiveness, and challenges that demand resilience and strategic prowess.
  4. Mercury (Budh Mahadasha): Lasts up to 17 years. Intellect reigns supreme during Budh Mahadasha. Communication skills sharpen, and intellectual pursuits flourish. This phase fosters adaptability, curiosity, and a penchant for learning.
  5. Jupiter (Guru Mahadasha): Lasts up to 16 years. Abundance, wisdom, and spiritual growth mark the era of Guru Mahadasha. Opportunities for expansion, generosity, and moral elevation abound, guiding individuals towards higher truths and fulfillment.
  6. Venus (Shukra Mahadasha): Lasts up to 20 years. Shukra Mahadasha epitomizes beauty, romance, and artistic expression. Pleasure-seeking tendencies emerge, fostering creativity, harmonious relationships, and material indulgence.
  7. Saturn (Shani Mahadasha): Lasts up to 19 years. Lessons abound in the school of life during Shani Mahadasha. Discipline, perseverance, and karmic reckoning characterize this phase, demanding maturity, hard work, and resilience in the face of adversity.
  8. Rahu and 9.Ketu Mahadasha: Rahu Mahadasha lasts up to 18 years while Ketu’s lasts for 7 years. These shadowy planets wield a mysterious influence, unveiling deep-seated desires, illusions, and karmic reckonings. Rahu Mahadasha sparks ambition and worldly desires, while Ketu Mahadasha prompts spiritual introspection and detachment.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which Mahadasha is the longest?

Shukra Mahadasha is the longest as it lasts for 20 years.

How do I know which Mahadasha is going on?

The planetary placements at the time of birth of an individual help in finding out the Mahadasha.

Which Mahadasha is favorable?

Guru Mahadasha, which lasts for around 16 years, is said to bring positive effects with the blessings of Jupiter.

What is the most difficult Mahadasha?

Ketu Mahadasha, which lasts for around 7 years, can bring huge transformations in an individual’s life and can prove to be a very difficult period.

For Astrological Remedies & Services- Visit: AstroSage Online Shopping Store

Thank you for staying connected with AstroSage!

Astrological services for accurate answers and better feature

33% off

Dhruv Astro Software - 1 Year

'Dhruv Astro Software' brings you the most advanced astrology software features, delivered from Cloud.

Brihat Horoscope
What will you get in 250+ pages Colored Brihat Horoscope.
Are money matters a reason for the dark-circles under your eyes?
Ask A Question
Is there any question or problem lingering.
Career / Job
Worried about your career? don't know what is.
AstroSage Year Book
AstroSage Yearbook is a channel to fulfill your dreams and destiny.
Career Counselling
The CogniAstro Career Counselling Report is the most comprehensive report available on this topic.

Astrological remedies to get rid of your problems

Red Coral / Moonga
(3 Carat)

Ward off evil spirits and strengthen Mars.

Buy Genuine Gemstones at Best Prices.
Energised Yantras for You.
Original Rudraksha to Bless Your Way.
Feng Shui
Bring Good Luck to your Place with Feng Shui.
Praise the Lord with Divine Energies of Mala.
Jadi (Tree Roots)
Keep Your Place Holy with Jadi.

Buy Brihat Horoscope

250+ pages @ Rs. 599/-

Brihat Horoscope

AstroSage on MobileAll Mobile Apps

Buy Gemstones

Best quality gemstones with assurance of

Buy Yantras

Take advantage of Yantra with assurance of

Buy Feng Shui

Bring Good Luck to your Place with Feng Shui.from

Buy Rudraksh

Best quality Rudraksh with assurance of
Call NowTalk to
Chat NowChat with