• Talk To Astrologers
  • Talk To Astrologers
  • Talk To Astrologers
  • Brihat Horoscope
  • Personalized Horoscope 2024
  • Live Astrologers

Ishta Devata Calculator: Worship Your Chosen Deity

Ishta Devata Calculator is created with the help of learned astrologers. It analyses and tell a person which deity he/she should worship, according to their birth chart. Many of us don't understand the significance behind it or often have the question, "Who is my ishta devata? How and why should I worship this deity?". AstroSage brings you the answer to all these questions here. With this Ishta Devata Calculator, find out who is your chosen deity, according to your kundli.

Enter Your Birth Details

Ishta Devata: Who and Why?

Moksha is a concept associated with the birth and rebirth cycle, and Vedic Astrology defines the attainment of moksha as the only purpose in life for every human being. Our Ishta Devata or chosen deity is the one whom we pray to, and who can guide us to our true purpose - salvation. Ishta Devata, literally translates to 'the favored deity' whom we worship, and is the higher power, whom we connect with spiritually. He/She guides us through life, helping us live a fulfilling and protected life, and then finally directing us into leaving the cycle of rebirth behind to experience of oneness with the One Supreme Self. Unlike our Kul Devata, the Ishta Devata is unique for every individual, and can be easily discovered through our birth chart. As per astrology, one should definitely worship their specific Ishta Devata. The rituals behind the veneration of your chosen deity are rather easy to follow and are mainly based on the chanting of mantras pertaining to them.

How To Find Your Chosen Deity (Ishta Devata)

The knowledge about one's Ishta Devata can easily be discovered through the Atmakaraka in Navamsa in our birth charts. The Atmakaraka is the planet with the highest degree in our kundli. The Navamsa, on the other hand, is the ninth division in our birth chart, that signifies Dharma and thereby is also known as the Dharma-amsa. The Atmakaraka in one's Navamsa is called the Karakamsa and the twelfth house or sign from it pertains to our Ishta Devata. The planets posited in this house determine our chosen deity, however, if this house is empty then the Lord of the house is taken as the significator. Every planet pertains to a certain deity who has to be worshipped.

Planets and Deities

According to the planet residing in the twelfth house from your Karakamsa house, or the Lord of the said house, the deities to be worshipped are given below:

  • Sun: Lord Shiva, Sri Rama
  • Moon: Goddess Gauri, Goddess Lalita, Goddess Saraswati, Sri Krishna
  • Mars: Lord Hanuman, Rudra Deva, Lord Kartikeya (Subrahmanya), Sri Narasimha
  • Mercury: Lord Vishnu, Sri Buddha
  • Jupiter: Lord Hayagreeva, Lord Vishnu, Lord Indra, Lord Dattatreya, Any mentor/teacher
  • Venus: Goddess Lakshmi, Goddess Parvati
  • Saturn: Lord Vishnu, Lord Brahma
  • Rahu: Goddess Durga, Shri Narasimha
  • Ketu: Lord Ganesha

Lord Vishnu is known as the 'preserver' in the hindu trinity, and he is considered to be the deity who can guide every individual towards Moksha easily, as he carries the Sudharshan Chakra, which is considered essential in attainment of salvation. For such individuals, the following list carries the specific forms (avatar) of Lord Vishnu whom they should worship as their Ishta Devata:

  • Sun: Lord Rama
  • Moon: Lord Krishna
  • Mars: Lord Narasimha
  • Mercury: Lord Buddha
  • Jupiter: Lord Vamana
  • Venus: Lord Parashurama
  • Saturn: Lord Koorma
  • Rahu: The Varaha form
  • Ketu: The Matsya form

We hope that this article help you find your Ishta Devata and provide you information on rituals to be followed. AstroSage wishes you all the best.

Astrological services for accurate answers and better feature

33% off

Dhruv Astro Software - 1 Year

'Dhruv Astro Software' brings you the most advanced astrology software features, delivered from Cloud.

Brihat Horoscope
What will you get in 250+ pages Colored Brihat Horoscope.
Are money matters a reason for the dark-circles under your eyes?
Ask A Question
Is there any question or problem lingering.
Career / Job
Worried about your career? don't know what is.
AstroSage Year Book
AstroSage Yearbook is a channel to fulfill your dreams and destiny.
Career Counselling
The CogniAstro Career Counselling Report is the most comprehensive report available on this topic.

Astrological remedies to get rid of your problems

Red Coral / Moonga
(3 Carat)

Ward off evil spirits and strengthen Mars.

Buy Genuine Gemstones at Best Prices.
Energised Yantras for You.
Original Rudraksha to Bless Your Way.
Feng Shui
Bring Good Luck to your Place with Feng Shui.
Praise the Lord with Divine Energies of Mala.
Jadi (Tree Roots)
Keep Your Place Holy with Jadi.

Buy Brihat Horoscope

250+ pages @ Rs. 399/-

Brihat Horoscope

AstroSage on MobileAll Mobile Apps

AstroSage TVSubscribe

Buy Gemstones

Best quality gemstones with assurance of

Buy Yantras

Take advantage of Yantra with assurance of

Buy Feng Shui

Bring Good Luck to your Place with Feng Shui.from

Buy Rudraksh

Best quality Rudraksh with assurance of


Live Astrologers